GST bill: President Pranab Mukherjee clears four supporting legislations

13 April 2017, 05:07 PM
President Pranab Mukherjee
President Pranab Mukherjee

President Pranab Mukherjee has approved four supporting legislations regarding the Goods and Services Tax (GST), while paving the way for the roll out of one-nation-one-tax regime from July 1.

The legislations were The Central GST Act, 2017, The Integrated GST Act, 2017, The GST (Compensation to States) Act, 2017, and The Union Territory GST Act, 2017, officials said on Thursday.

Earlier, on Wednesday, the historic GST bills and 14 other government legislations were approved by the Rajya Sabha. The GST bills are being considered as biggest tax reform measures which will bring India under a uniform indirect tax regime.

ALSO READ: Budget session of Rajya Sabha ends after approving historic GST bills

First Published: Thursday, April 13, 2017 04:53 PM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.