Satyapal Malik takes oath as 38th Governor of Bihar; succeeds Ram Nath Kovind

Updated On : 2017-10-04 12:35:58
Satyapal Malik takes oath as 38th Governor of Bihar in Patna (Image: ANI)
Satyapal Malik takes oath as 38th Governor of Bihar in Patna (Image: ANI)
New Delhi:

Satyapal Malik on Wednesday took oath as Governor of Bihar in Patna. Malik will be the 38th governor of the state.

Malik was administered the oath of office by Chief Justice of the Patna High Court Justice Rajendra Menon, in presence of a host of dignitaries including Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi, Bihar Legislative Assembly Speaker Vijay Chaudhary and outgoing chairman of Legislative Council Awadhesh Narain Singh.

Malik was given guard of honour on his arrival in Patna on Tuesday. Malik broke protocol to hug Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and his deputy Sushil Kumar Modi.

Malik was elected as Governor of Bihar after the pose went vacant with election of Ram Nath Kovind as President of India in July.

Malik is former parliamentarian and Bhartiya Janata Party’s national vice-president. 

Malik was the member of the 9th Lok Sabha and represented Aligarh Constituency from 1989 to 1991. He was member of Rajya sabha from Uttar Pradesh during two term of 1980-86 and 1986-1992. He was also member of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly during 1974-77.

First Published : Wednesday, October 04, 2017 10:51 AM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation Mobile App available on Android and iOS.