Uttar Pradesh elections 2017: Mayawati releases second list of 100 BSP candidates

New Delhi, News Nation Bureau | Updated : 06 January 2017, 11:53 AM
A file photo of BSP chief Mayawati.
A file photo of BSP chief Mayawati.

The Bahujan Samaj Party released its second list of 100 candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh.

The BSP is contesting the crucial polls on its own amid an ongoing feud within the ruling Samajwadi Party.

Just three days ago, the BSP supremo had indicated caste-wise details of her party's list during a press conference in Lucknow.

Mayawati had said that of the 403 seats, "85 are reserved for the SCs and 87 tickets have been given to dalits, 97 to Muslims, 106 to OBCs, 113 to upper castes (66 to Brahmins, 36 to Kshetriyas and 11 to Kayasthas, Vaishyas, Punjabis)." 

The BSP chief said that she had decided the candidates long ago and there will be no change in it.

(More details awaited)

First Published: Friday, January 06, 2017 11:01 AM
For all the latest India News Download the News Nation App available on Android and iOS.